March 14th, 2013

Asia’s premier motocross series returns to the country’s last frontier when the opening round of the 2013 FIM Asia Motocross Championship unfolds at bucolic Puerto Princesa City on March 21-24. Motorsports aficionados are bracing themselves for another epic contest between defending champion Arnon “Turbo” Theplib from Thailand, his perennial Japanese rival Tomoya “Kamikaze” Suzuki and Kenneth San Andres, the Philippines’ reigning Motocross Rider of the Year.

After its memorable maiden outing in 2004, the annual gathering of Asia’s top motocross artisans garnered a growing number of followers and turned into a much-awaited event in the succeeding years.

For the tenth year in a row, the Hon. Mayor Edward Hagedorn and his constituents from the City of Puerto Princesa are again playing host and benefactor to the Philippine leg of the Asian continental championship. Other sponsors of the event are Repsol, HJC Helmets, Shakeys, Du Ek Sam Inc. Puerto Princesa, Honda Prestige Puerto Princesa, Asia Brewery Inc. and Otto Shoes. The event is also being supported by the Department of Tourism and recognized by the Philippine Sports Commission and the Philippine Olympic Committee.

The groundwork to render Puerto Princesa’s world-class motocross racetrack ready for the Asian meet is underway. The venue is expected to teem with activity throughout the race weekend with the expected attendance of over a hundred riders and teams from various cities and provinces across the country as well as the legions who are coming to watch them dispute the round pennant and incentives at stake in the 15 categories of NAMSSA’s 2013 National Motocross Development Program.

14-year-old Mark Reggie Flores of San Pablo City will be a marked man in the Asian Junior 85cc category where he will defend the back-to-back titles he bagged during the 2011-2012 seasons. Flores is expected to be find the competition from Mongolian Khisigmunk Munkbolor, Sri Lankan Jacques Gunawardena and compatriot Gabriel Macaso from Cabanatuan, Nueva Ecija who claimed the Philippine National Junior 85cc title in 2012.

Flores and Kenneth San Andres will be feted in the 2013 PSA Awards Ceremony set on Saturday. Flores is one of the young athletes who have been handpicked to receive the Tony Siddayao Award, an honor conferred to athletes who have made major accomplishments in their sport at a tender age. San Andres on the other hand is being cited for his achievements in motocross.

Guam’s Stanley Yasuhiro is similarly expected to encounter some rough sailing when he defends the Asian Veterans crown against runners-up Mike Zolin, Gimo Gonzales and Junjun San Andres.

For more information on the FIM Asia Motocross Championship and other NAMSSA events and activities, visit and the NAMSSA Secretariat Facebook Page.


Asian Motorcycle Union

AsiaMX Video