Foreign Champs Due Today For Fim-Uam Supercross Masters Of Asia

March 22nd, 2007

PHILIPPINES - The 2007 Puerto Princesa City Supercross Masters of Asia FIM-UAM Asian Motocross Championships scored a record high of 13 nations participating in the country’s highly-awaited biggest motorsports spectacle set to unfold March 24-25 at the Puerto Princesa City, Palawan , Philippine Islands, marking its first stop of its five asian nation tour ( Guam, Indonesia, China ) motocross racetrack adjacent near the City Hall here.

India was the latest to confirm with the addition of Karan Gautam in the centerpiece Asian Pro 125 division of this event supported by the City of Puerto Princesa, Aboitiz 2GO, Oakley, the Philippine Sports Commission and Asian regional promoter of event Xtreme Worx Philippines.

Aside from host Philippines, the other countries that have earlier confirmed were Dubai, Mongolia, Thailand, New Zealand, Hongkong, Australia, Guam, Japan, United Kingdom, Indonesia and China.

The bulk of the delegations is set to arrive Tuesday and they start heading for Puerto Princesa City the following day.

This brings about a highly competitive field that includes new Japanese sensation and Yamaha rider Takeshi Tabuchi who’s expected to plunge into a tough title encounter up against favorites James Robinson of New Zealand, the Philippines’ very own Glenn Aguilar and defending champion Arnon Theplib of Thailand who also recently confirmed his intentions for title retention.

Among the returning champions in the event are China’s Shi Lok - Cane Skanlan of Australia; Denny Orlando, former Junior 85 stalwart Aldi Lazaroni and Hannu Malherbe of Indonesia; Hongkong’s Sean Hewitt.

But new faces are also hoping to leave a big impression in the event led by Takuma Kojima of Japan, Kane Christopher Scanlan of Australia, Stanley Yasuhiro, James Cepeda Jr & Errol Angoco of Guam and Erdenbileg Khaliunbold of Mongolia.

Even our young promising champions led by Junior 50 cc. Champion Patrick Orbe, Junior 65 cc. champion Jacob Orbe and Junior 85 titlist Jensen Manuel will be facing big challenges against their foreign rivals led by Kacey Callaway of Dubai, Errol Angoco and James Cepeda Jr. of Guam, Arongglot Pinpon of Thailand and Farhan Hendra Fahrodji of Indonesia.

The overall champion of the centerpiece Asian Open 125 will be commissioned by the governing FIM-UAM as the Asia-Pacific with a posisble representative ride in the World Motocross Championship in Europe proivded by Youthstream. Local supoprt from the KTM regional headqurters in Malaysia has arrived with some of our Asian riders this year.

“Aside from being a record-breaking year with 13 participating nations, this 2007 FIM-UAM Asian Motocross Championships will definitely put the Junior divisions in equal limelight with the centerpiece Asian Open 125 class considering the number of talented young riders taking their shots at the coveted crown,” said Ken Falco, president of the National Motorcycle Sports and Safety Association (NAMSSA).

The UK TV Crew of Star Sports and ESPN, led by Mark Dunn and Christian Blockley, will be covering the intense action of the event as well as promote the beauty and splendor of Puerto Princesa City’s scenic spots and its flora and fauna to its over 540 million viewers worldwide.

“This makes the Motocross Masters of Asia the biggest Philippine sports event and the only event to be telecast globally in Star TV, ESPN, SPEED USA, EuroSports etc. for the year 2007 showcasing Puerto Princesa City as host,” said FIM-UAM president Macky Carapiet.

Up for grabs is the Mayor Edward S. Hagedorn Cup – which will be handed to the champions in centerpiece Asian Open 125cc class & the Junior Asian 85cc Class.

For details on the Motocross Masters of Asia, please email or call 0917-8992363 or check out & This event is sanctioned by NAMSSA , the local governing body for motorcycle sports into eh country today and is affiliated with the Philippine Olympic Committee and the FIM.

For more info you may reach:

Mr. Stephan ‘Macky’ Carapiet,
Vice President, UAM Asian Motorcycle Union ( )
President, FIM Asian Motocross & Enduro Commission ( )
Managing Director, NAMSSA Philippines ( )
T: 632.853.1631 F: 632.853.1630 Mob: +63.917.899.2363


Asian Motorcycle Union

AsiaMX Video