Asian Supercross Round 2 At Fast Track Ciruit - Manila

July 2nd, 2007

The Philippines will again play host to the FIM-UAM Asian Motocross Championships, this time at the Fast Track Circuit in Upper Bicutan, Taguig City for the second round set July 22.

It’s been 10 years since an international motocross event has been staged right at the heart of Metro Manila, the last was in 1997 when Marikina hosted an international event.

It will also be the first time for Metro Manila motocross fans to witness our local motocross heroes give a gallant stand against the national champions of the Asia-Pacific region.

Just 15 minutes away from Manila, the Fast Track Circuit promises convenience for both riders and spectators as it meets international safety standards with perimeter safety fences, rest rooms for participants and public, clubhouse, cable TV, billiards hall, medical room and the works.

Riders from Japan, Thailand, Australia, Malaysia, Indonesia, UAE, Guam and India are set to participate in the event organized by the National Motorcycle Sports and Safety Association in cooperation with Xtreme Worx Philippines as they vie for the prestigious titles in the Asian 125 cc. and the Junior Asian 85 cc. divisions.

Thailand’s top bets — Defending champion Arnon Theplib and Arongkot Pinpon – are looking forward to a repeat of their impressive sweeps in the opening round staged in Puerto Princesa City last March.

Theplib then took a gallant rally after a slow start to wrest the lead on the fifth lap to claim the centerpiece Asian 125 crown and the Mayor Edward Hagedorn Cup.

Australian champion Kane Scanlan bagged the runner-up honors with Indonesian first timer Hannu Malherbe claiming third place in Moto 1 and the Philippines’ very own Glenn Aguilar taking third place honors in Moto 2.

Pinpon, a 12-year-old first timer in the event, also displayed consistency and determination to capture the Asian Junior 85 plum over Farhan Hendra of Indonesia.
The Philippines, on the other hand, will be represented by young riders Jeven Legrada, Patrick North and Christopher Jacob Orbe, and Lorenzo “Noynoy” Rellosa among others in the Junior Asian 85 division.

For further details on the Motocross Masters of Asia, please email or call 0917-8992363 or check out


Asian Motorcycle Union

AsiaMX Video