Champion Riders To Arrive Next Week For Fim-uam Motocross Masters Of Asia

March 7th, 2006

The bulk of the participating delegations are expected to fly in next week in time for the FIM-UAM 2006 Motocross Masters of Asia set March 18-19 at the Puerto Princesa City motocross racetrack adjacent near the City Hall.

Preparations for event supervised by Puerto Princesa City Mayor himself Edward Hagedorn and City Administrator Atty. Agustin Rocamora are on its final stages and will be ready for practice by next week.

We’re hoping to duplicate, if not surpass, the success of the past two stagings here. And with the number of tourists coming in for the event, we hope to firm up Puerto Princesa’s tag as the Sports Tourism Capital of the country, said Hagedorn.

Over 40,000 local townfolks are expecting the exciting showdown in Round 2 of the FIM-UAM Asia Pacific Motocross Championship.

The intricate track design internationally approved by the FIM Motocorss Commission will surely add flavor to the brewing rivalry between New Zealand ace James Robinson and the Philippines’ multi-titled champ Glenn Aguilar as seen inthe recent succesful Camel International Supercross Championships held in Bacolod and Iloilo City recently, in this event organized by the NAMSSA and supported by the City of Puerto Princesa, the Philippine Sports Commission, Department of Finance and the Bureau of Customs and Bureau of Import Services.

The uphill and downhill routes, the treacherous narrow turns, the triple jumps, the woop-de-doos, and the challenging table top will surely put their skills and strategy to test.

Aside from that, the two top favorites will have to survive the big challenge from equally strong contenders Teddy Otsuka of Japan, Aep Dadang Supriatna and Denny Orlando of Indonesia, Jye Harvey of Australia and defending champion Arnon Turbo Theplib of Thailand for the coveted crown in the centerpiece 125cc class, the Mayor Edward S. Hagedorn Cup, a sterling silver trophy coming from the city’s chief executive and his constituents.

Joining the hunt for the champion trophy are the Philippines’ Kenneth San Andres, Jovie Saulog and Bebet de la Cruz; China’s Shi Lo; former Indonesian 85cc Champion Aldi Lazaroni and Adi Aprian; Thai 85cc Champion Arunkrong Pinpon; Nic Yasuhiro of Guam; Floyd de la Cruz and Ellery Cruz of Saipan; Gayan Sandaruwan of Sri Lanka and Hongkong’s Sean Hewett; Omar Din Maslan - Malysia, Mohamed Belooshi of UAE. Toeghter with them natinal riders form Luzon , Visayas and Mindao are expceted to troop to the event, the biggest motorsports event in the Philippines to happen this year and in the Philipine motorcycle racing history.

For details on the Motocross Masters of Asia and the Camel International Supercross Series, please email or call 0917-8992363 or check out or


Asian Motorcycle Union

AsiaMX Video